Saturday, February 24, 2018
Lt Col Rajan Agarwal assumes c...
Lt Col Rajan Agarwal assumes charge as Registrar in Cyber ...
Dr S S Chahar assumes charge a...
Dr S S Chahar assumes charge as Member(Judicial)Cyber Appe...
You are here: Home > History


The Information Technology Act, 2000 which came into force on 17th, October 2000 was enacted to provide legal recognition for transactions carried out by means of electronic data inter change and other means of electronic communication, commonly referred to as “electronic commerce” which involve the use of alternatives to paper based methods of communication and storage of information, to facilitate electronic filing of documents with the Government Agencies and to amend the Indian Penal Code, the Indian Evidence Act, 1872, the Bankers Book of Evidence Act, 1891 and the Reserve Bank of India Act, 1934 and also for matters connected therewith or incidental thereto.

The first and the only Cyber Appellate Tribunal in the country has been established by the Central Government in accordance with the provisions contained under Section 48(1) of the Information Technology Act, 2000. The Tribunal was initally known as the Cyber Regulations Appellate Tribunal (CRAT). After amendment of the IT Act in the year 2008 (which came into effect on 27.10.2009) it has now become the Cyber Appellate Tribunal (CyAT). The Tribunal started functioning from October, 2006 in a portion of the Department of Information Technology  building at CGO Complex, Lodhi Road, New Delhi. Initialy the Act provided for the Tribunal to be headed by a Presiding Officer who is or who was or who is qualified to be a Judge of a High Court. but after the amendment of the I. T. Act, 2000 in the year 2008 (which came into effect on 27.10.2009), the Tribunal now consists of a Chairperson and such number of other Members as the Central Government may by notification in the official Gazette appoint. The qualifications for appointment as Chairperson and Members of the Cyber Appellate Tribunal are given in Section 50 of the IT (Amendment) Act, 2008. Hon’ble Mr. Justice R.C. Jain, a retired Judge of Delhi High Court was the first Presiding Officer of the Cyber  Appellate Tribunal, who joined as Presiding Officer on 4th October, 2006. Mr. Justice R. C. Jain acted as Presiding Officer of  the Cyber Appellate Tribunal till on 7th December, 2007.

On appointment of Hon’ble Mr. Justice R.C. Jain as Member of National Consumer Disputes Redressal Commission, Hon’ble Mr. Justice Rajesh Tandon, a retired Judge of Uttrakhand High Court took over the charge as Presiding Officer of Cyber  Appellate Tribunal on 25th February, 2009. Tenure of Justice Rajesh Tandon, as Chairperson of this Tribunal  expired on 30th June, 2011.

The Government of India appointed Hon'ble Mr. Justice S.K. Krishnan, a retired Judge of Madras High Court as Member (Judicial) and Head of Department, Cyber Appellate Tribunal on 21st Decmeber, 2011. The tenure of Hon'ble Mr.Justice S.K. Krishnan as Member (Judicial) Cyber Appellate Tribunal  expired on 8th Novermber,2012.

The Government of India appointed Shri R.N. Singh an officer of  the Department of Telecommunication as Member (Technical) and HOD Cyber Appellate Tribunal on 2nd Novermber and 18th December 2012 respectively.

The Government of India appointed Dr. S S Chahar an officer of Ministry of Law and Justice as Member (Judicial) Cyber Appellate Tribunal on 1st April, 2015.

The post of Chairperson is vacant.

© Content Owned, Updated and Maintained by Cyber Appellate Tribunal, Government of India.
Last Updated on May 23, 2017 at 3:31 PM